Bookish Oscars

Best Screenplay: Favourite Book – Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series

Here’s the thing about this category, Favourite Book – it’s a freaking nightmare to pick just one! I’m sure you’re like me and so you’ll know I’m not lying when I say I’ve got several favourites in almost any genre. The task of picking just one out of my complete list practically sent me spiralling into a bookworm freak out.

After I calmed down from my freak out I realised that my mind kept going back to one specific series and so I decided to officially make it my choice for this category (and yes, I know  instead of picking one book, I picked an entire series, but you know what I have to say to you, judgey bookworm? You try picking just one). I give you – Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

dosab.jpg

Wishes are false. Hope is true. Hope makes its own magic.

Anyone who knows me, or has even mentioned the word “book” around me, knows how much I adore Laini Taylor and for very good reasons. She’s extraordinary and her writing style is hauntingly beautiful. It’s almost poetic, but never turns into purple prose that’s trying too hard. All in all she is simply exquisite.

Case in point – Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Taylor embraces the classic plot of good versus evil, angels versus demons and let’s not forget – forbidden love, but retells it in the most original way. You’ll go on a journey where you discover that there is no such thing as wholly good or evil, there are villains on both sides of a war and at the end there are no winners; only death and the long road to recovery. Unfortunately, I think I’m painting this as quite a dark story, but believe me when I say that this is the kind of story that will give you hope and make you believe in the power of good in the world. In all worlds.

I could go on and on and on about this story until the sky falls, but there is nothing I can say that will adequately describe just how brilliant this series is and there are no words to describe my utter and pure love for Laini Taylor.

Leave a Reply

