Bookish Oscars

Best Short Film: Favourite Novella – Night of Cake and Puppets by Laini Taylor

I’ve never really seen the point of novellas, to be honest. Largely because I’ve never come across a decent one.I mean, if the mini story you’re telling is that good you should’ve just stuck it in the original novel, right? I was 100% a firm believer of this. Until… Night of Cake and Puppets by Laini Taylor smacked me in the face.

I am a rabid fairy. I am a carnivorous plant. I am Zuzana. And violin boy’s not going to know what hit him.

This was the novella that made me realise sometimes a plot is just too big or complicated to fit in all the smaller bits and pieces the fans crave. I finally understood that novellas are just the authors’ way of being good to the fans who stand beside them and who passionately love the characters they created as much as they do. It’s like a little gift from them to us.

The reason I fell in love with this specific novella comes down to two things: 1- Laini Taylor is the best thing since sliced bread and could rewrite the phonebook into a bestseller and 2- she created the kind of characters you seriously can’t get enough of. I’m talking about the scarily, wonderful Zuzana and the adorably, shy violin-boy Mik who appear in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series.

Night of Cake and Puppets grabbed my attention right from the beginning with the mischievous title and then completely stole my heart with its freaking spectacular plot. This is a brief, yet perfect, story about the first date between Zuzana and Mik that is so unbelievably awesome I couldn’t have dreamt up a better one if my life depended on it. Hence why she’s the writer and I’m the fangirl. Also, it drastically raised my standards for first dates so now I’ve got a lot of underwhelming dates to look forward to. Thanks a lot, Laini.

The only thing left to say is that if you’re looking to read something that’s going to make you laugh and want to fall in love, then this is the novella you need! 

Leave a Reply

