Bookish Oscars

Best Costume Design: Favourite outfit – Cinder’s ball gown

How ironic is it that I look like an angry raccoon, that’s been dragged through the mud a couple of times, yet here I am talking to you guys about fashion? Honestly… *shakes my head along with all of you who are reading this* Nevertheless, you nerds are stuck with me so let’s just get straight to it then, shall we?

When I read the title of this category I immediately thought about Belle’s bellowing, yellow gown, Jesper Fahey’s colourful pants paired with his snazzy suspenders or even Aelin’s sexy black dress with the golden dragon. However, none of them made quite an impression the same way Cinder’s ball gown did in Cinder by Marissa Meyer. A muddy and wet gown with grease-stained gloves; Cinder’s outfit had definitely seen better days but to be honest she freaking rocked it!

I’m sure I’ll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.

Only a true queen could slay in a dirty, ripped dress with delicate gloves and Prince Kai agrees with me. His reaction was one of the most adorable things in that book because he took one good look at her and thought, ‘yeah, this is exactly what I expected from her’ and smiled at her like she was better than chocolate cake. Seriously guys, where can I find a man like that?

Yes, it probably would have made more sense to pick one of the classically beautiful gowns and we all know there’s no shortage of those – especially in YA novels, but I really love that Cinder broke out of the YA box. I remember reading that chapter and thinking, ‘YAAAASSS! I need to find a ball so I can do this!’ The truth is that we can go round and round for days, but for me – nothing tops Cinder’s ballgown!

Leave a Reply

