Bookish Oscars

 

Best Visual Effects: Best Illustrated Book – 5 Very Good Reasons to Punch a Dolphin in the Mouth by The Oatmeal

This category threw me off a little bit. I mean what exactly is the difference between an illustrated book and a graphic novel? Truth be told, I actually still don’t know the difference. What I do know is that despite my confusion I still knew who I was going to pick as the winner of this category. It seemed a no-brainer to me that The Oatmeal created by Matthew Inman would come out on top and if you know of his work you’ll immediately know why.

If you’re unfamiliar with The Oatmeal please go and check out his website, get some snacks and get comfortable. After reading one post that a friend sent me I spent the next week actively avoiding work and laughing myself silly at comics that perfectly mirrored the ridiculousness of life. Like this comic of a conversation I’ve had more times than I care to remember.

The Oatmeal Having Kids Comic

If we’re being real, I’d rather drown in shit than be forced into this conversation one more time by nosy family members and assholes “helpful” strangers.

If toilet humour is not your thing – never fear! The Oatmeal covers everything from why Nikola Tesla is the greatest nerd you’ve probably never heard of, to how you too can cuddle like a champion.

I was an instant fan and practically jumped out of my skin in excitement when I got my copies of 5 Very Good Reasons to Punch a Dolphin in the Mouth and Why Grizzly Bears Should Wear Underpants.

The Oatmeal Books

“This book contains gorillas, prostitution, poop jokes, small quantities of chainsaws, large quantities of man nipples, and one drug-addicted dinosaur”

The comics are honestly brilliant, gorgeously illustrated and tremendously funny. Look guys, we all know that life is kind of shitty and I like to think we’ve all come close to that moment when we’re about to lose it and just slap a bitch. When that happens to me I know I need a break from the stupidity of humanity and I’m telling you that The Oatmeal has become my first stop when I need a pick-me-up. So if you think you’re not a fan of comics I seriously suggest you give these ones a go. Unless you’ve got something against joy and pure, unadulterated happiness, I dare you to try them and not become hooked.

Happy reading, nerds!

Leave a Reply

