Bookish Oscars

Special Achievement: Favourite Dedication – Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson (aka The Bloggess)

How many of us actually read the dedications in books? I know I sure as hell don’t. After you’ve read book after book with the author thanking their parents for always having faith in them you start to gloss over them. However, for those of us who are fans of The Bloggess we knew that a standard book dedication was never going to be in the cards, and that is why she wins favourite dedication for Let’s Pretend This Never Happened!

Because you are defined not by life’s imperfect moments, but by your reaction to them. And because there is joy in embracing – rather than running from – the utter absurdity of life.

At the time I got this book I had no idea who Jenny Lawson was and I’d never heard of The Bloggess so when I accidentally glanced at her dedication I was in no way prepared for the sound that sort-of-resembled-laughter-but-was-actually-more-of-a-half-shout that came out of my mouth. It was unexpected, absolutely hilarious and had me laughing before I even got to the first page.

Yes, this is the dedication. Brilliant, isn’t it?

It’s not easy to set a tone of awesomeness before your book even officially starts and carry it through all the way to the last page, but that just goes to show that Jenny Lawson is not your regular type of awesome. It’s not every day you come across a book about fisting real live-action squirrel sock-puppets or accidentally stabbing yourself with chicken, but that’s what Let’s Pretend This Never Happened has got up its sleeve plus so much more.

Jenny Lawson has a strangely unique way of experiencing life that makes you realise that yes, life is indeed shit – but it’s all the better to laugh at yourself. To be honest, I can’t even describe how much I adore her except to say that she is indescribable and incomparable in the best possible way!

Leave a Reply

